Terence Blanchard Featuring the E-Collective and the Turtle Island Quartet

Sat, Apr 12, 2025 |
Venue: Concert Hall
Terence Blanchard


$48 ($45 + $3 fee)
$63 ($60 + $3 fee)
$78 ($75 + $3 fee)
$98 ($95 + $3 fee)

Senior/Military: 10% off ticket price

Free ticket for all students available at the Box Office only the night of event.
Limit one free ticket per valid school ID.


Presented In Partnership With BluePort Jazz

BluePort Jazz Logo
Add to Calendar2025-04-12 8:00 PMAmerica/Los_AngelesTerence Blanchard Featuring the E-Collective and the Turtle Island Quartet

“Blanchard’s body of work is one of the broadest and most imposing of any living jazz musician.” - New York Times


Terence Blanchard, trumpet
Charles Altura, guitar
Fabian Almazan, piano, synthesizers
Oscar Seaton, drums
David “DJ” Ginyard, bass

Turtle Island Quartet:
Naseem Alatrashcello
David Balakrishnan, violin
Gabriel Terracciano, violin
Benjamin von Gutzeit, viola


NEA Jazz Master, two-time Emmy and Oscar nominee, and eight-time GRAMMY®-winning trumpeter and composer Terence Blanchard has established himself as the quintessential 21st-century Renaissance man. In celebration of his artistic achievements, Blanchard will reimagine the music from his critically acclaimed album FLOW for a 20th-anniversary tour in 2025.

Twenty years ago, Blanchard reached one of the many creative pinnacles of his career and entered the studio with the objective of creating music that answers one simple but immense question: What brings joy and purpose to people’s lives? Both this query and the subsequent title of the album were inspired by renowned psychologist Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi and his book Flow: The Psychology of Optimal Experience, which explores creativity, peak performance, and genuine happiness.

Two decades and many milestones later, Blanchard’s artistic identity and perception of this important art form have continued to evolve. To celebrate this fan-favorite album and his own growth as an artist over the last twenty years, Blanchard has reworked these iconic tunes for his current ensemble de force, which received a GRAMMY® nomination for its most recent recording, Absence. This nine-member ensemble, which has performed hundreds of shows over the last four years, now includes The E-Collective, comprised of Charles Altura on guitar, Taylor Eigsti on piano and synthesizers, Oscar Seaton on drums, and David “DJ” Ginyard on bass, as well as the double-GRAMMY®-winning Turtle Island Quartet. This expanded instrumentation will offer an updated look at work that has thrilled Blanchard’s fans and influenced all of his subsequent recordings over the last two decades.