Vadym Kholodenko

Sun, Oct 30, 2022 |
Venue: Concert Hall
Vadym Kholodenko standing sideways to us in a blue jacket


$25 - $55
$22.50 - $49.50


This Concert is Sponsored By: Dr. Ken and Sandy Tokita & the Parnassus Society, and by Sam B and Lyndie Ersan

Parnassus Society Logo
Add to Calendar2022-10-30 3:00 PMAmerica/Los_AngelesVadym Kholodenko


“Kholodenko exudes a sense of excitement that comes straight out of his personality…Pianist and composer sounded as one, the performance closer to an experience of absolute improvisation than one will ever find in the classical repertoire. He played with such precipitous muscularity and high spirits that it could have been an encore…delicate and wistful side to his artistry that was utterly charming.” - New York Classical Review

Vadym Kholodenko is fast building a reputation as one of the most musically dynamic and technically gifted young pianists, praised in his performance with the Philadelphia Orchestra “for his absorbing melodic shading [and] glittering passage work” (Philadelphia Enquirer). Winner of the 2013 Cliburn Competition, Kholodenko captivated audiences and critics alike with the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra immediately appointing him their first Artist-in-Partnership for a period of three years. His latest solo disc on harmonia mundi, works by Scriabin, won a prestigious Diapason d’Or de l’année. Previous awards include First Prizes at both the Schubert Piano Competition, Dortmund (2011) and Sendai Piano Competition (2010).

Kholodenko has collaborated with distinguished conductors including Valery Gergiev, Leonard Slatkin, Vladimir Fedoseyev, Kirill Karabits, Miguel Harth-Bedoya, Paul Daniel, Pinchas Zukerman, Yuri Bashmet, Vladimir Spivakov, Ion Marin and Kazuki Yamada. In 2013 he held a residency at the Mariinsky Concert Hall where Valery Gergiev named him Artist of the Month and had concerto performances and recordings in Paris, Luxembourg and St. Petersburg.


PROKOFIEV Four pieces, op. 32

SCHUBERT Sonata in E-flat Major, D. 568
     Allegro moderato
     Andante molto
     Menuet: Allegretto
     Allegro moderato


SCHUBERT Drei Klavierstücke, D. 946
     Allegro assai

PROKOFIEV Sonata No. 7 in B-flat Major, op. 83
     Allegro inquieto
     Andante caloroso


Vadym Kholodenko pianist