Soka Is Inaugural Member of Liberal Arts Colleges Racial Equity Leadership Alliance

November 12, 2020
Tagged as:
Aerial view of campus

Soka University has joined a consortium of more than 50 colleges and universities forming the new Liberal Arts Colleges Racial Equity Leadership Alliance to share strategies and resources to further racial equity in higher education.

“Soka University is proud to be an inaugural member of this alliance as we begin celebrating the 20th anniversary of our Aliso Viejo campus,” President Ed Feasel said. “We have one of the most ethnically diverse campuses in the nation and respect and care for every student is our highest priority.”

Alliance presidents and staff will share resources, meet regularly, and take annual campus climate surveys to gauge conditions and progress as perceived by faculty, staff, and students. Data from these surveys will be shared among member institutions.

Soka University’s membership in the alliance will enhance the work of its new Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion and the Unity and Diversity Council. “Our goal,” said President Feasel, “is to concretely address racial injustice and intolerance in all of its forms.”

Soka University joins the alliance in partnership with Allegheny College, Amherst College, Bard College, Barnard College, Bowdoin College, Bucknell University, Carleton College, Centre College, Claremont McKenna College, Colby College, Colgate University, Colorado College, Connecticut College, Davidson College, DePauw University, Dickinson College, Goucher College, Grinnell College, Hamilton College, Harvey Mudd College, Hobart and William Smith Colleges, Lafayette College, Luther College, Macalester College, McPherson College, Mount Holyoke College, Muhlenberg College, Pitzer College, Pomona College, Oberlin College, Occidental College, Randolph College, Reed College, Rhodes College, Scripps College, Skidmore College, Smith College, St. Olaf College, Susquehanna University, Swarthmore College, Union College, University of Richmond, Utica College, Wabash College, Washington and Lee University, Wellesley College, Westminster College, Whittier College, Williams College, and Wofford College.